Who says you cant play in a marching band as an adult??

I know there are a lot of drum and bugle corps out there and very good ones too. But Monday , on Craigs list and on FB there appeared this ad for 75 marching band players from 6am to 12 noon on Friday. Uniforms furnished, music furnished, Bkfst and Lunch furnished for a corporate gig.  $175 plus parking.

So, since I wasn’t doing anything else, I signed up. Many emails went out from the hiring guy who has a deal called the Patriot Brass, and they contract out bands for mostly veteran events. But this was a corporate deal. So…….off I went at Oh Dark Thirty to ATL.

78 of my closest musician friends and I all gathered in a classroom, were issued uniforms complete with hat and shako, and rehearsed, and at 11:15am or so, marched into this big room and played 2 tunes and marched out to a cadence. What fun!! Click on the links at the end for the video!!

hyatt-8hyatthyatt-7hyatt-4hyatt-3haytt-5hyatt-6the performance!!!              Marching in and the first song

 

About sjonesjrmd

Orthopedic Surgeon by training, a Jazz player since the 4th grade, Dr Jones is now retired and playing around north Georgia.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Who says you cant play in a marching band as an adult??

  1. Rachelle says:

    I miss playing in marching band, too. I would love to try and organize one in my area, but I don’t know how to go about doing that.

Leave a Reply

